Skip to content Skip to navigation

Seminars

Mechanical Engineering Seminars — Fall 2018

Seminars take place from 2 to 3:20 p.m. Fridays at CLSSRM 110 unless otherwise noted.

 

August. 31 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Barbaros Çetin, Bilkent University

Title: Microfluidic Systems for Bio-particle Manipulation

 

Sep. 7 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Amir Ghazanfari, San Jose State University

Title: Freeform Fabrication: From Freezing to Firing

 

Sep. 14 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Guillermo Aguilar, University of California, Riverside

Title: Some of the many things we can do with laser light aimed at biological tissue

 

Sep. 21 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Chen Li, University of South Carolina

Title: Some Highlights of Research in Microchannel Flow Boiling

 

Sep. 28 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Timothy Fisher, University of California, Los Angeles

Title: Practice Your Scales! Thermal, Energy, and Bio Nanomaterials for Fast Processes

 

Oct. 5 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Yong Shuai, Harbin Institute of Technology

Title: Simultaneous reconstruction of the 3D temperature field and radiative properties of flame using the light-field imaging technique

 

Oct. 13 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Zhen Li, Brown University

Title: Theory of Coarse-Graining and Mesoscopic Methods Applied to Multiscale Problems

 

Oct. 19 (Friday)

Speaker: Dr. Juhao Wu, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Title: Thermal-Mechanical-Optical Effects in Free Electron Laser X-Ray Pulse Interacting with Thin-Layer Crystal

 

Oct. 26 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor David Jassby, University of California, Los Angeles

Title: Electrochemistry at the Membrane/Water Interface

 

Nov. 2 (Friday)

Speaker: Dr. Yeh-Hung Lai, General Motors

Title: Automotive PEM Fuel Cell Technology – an Industrial Research Perspective on the Durability of Proton Exchange Membranes

 

Nov. 9 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Daniel Cooper, University of Michigan

Title: TBA

 

Nov. 16 (Friday)

Speaker: Dr. Ali Erdemir, Argonne National Laboratory

Title: Frontiers of Novel Nanomaterials and Coatings for Friction and Wear Control

 

Nov. 30 (Friday)

Speaker: Professor Suneel Kodambaka, University of California, Los Angeles

Title: TBA

 

Dec. 7 (Friday)

Speaker: Dr. Jeff Urban, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Title: TBA